2002 EDITION, Issue No. 5
March 15, 2002



This week, the Assembly and Senate budget subcommittees held
overview hearings to discuss the CSU 2002-03 budget. Assemblyman
Joe Simitian (D-San Jose), Chair of the Assembly Budget
Subcommittee, stated the committee would be seeking $50 million
in additional cuts to the higher education budget to help
accommodate a state budget deficit in excess of $15 billion. The
Legislative Analyst's Office (LAO) has proposed a list of
potential reductions to the CSU budget that include eliminating
duplicative bilingual and student outreach programs and, reducing
funding for summer operations and the Governor's Teaching
Fellowships. The LAO has also proposed the option of increasing
student resident fees.

Chancellor Charlie Reed testified that the CSU is expecting an
additional 12,000 FTES enrollment in the fall.  He further stated
that the ending of an energy contract with Enron will cost the
CSU $21 million in additional energy costs. Reed also revealed
that the Board of Trustees would be considering a 15 percent
increase in student non-resident fees at its May meeting thus
generating a projected $11.8 million in added revenue.

Reed was complementary about faculty contributions, including
CFA's role in the contract negotiations, and underscored the need
to close the faculty salary gap and hire additional tenure-track
positions. However, Reed also admitted that new technologies for
instruction might create climates when faculty will offer
curriculum that combine face-to-face and Internet instruction as
a way to reduce instructional expenditures.

In his testimony, CFA Legislative Director David Hawkins thanked
legislators for their help in reaching a tentative contract
agreement with the CSU administration, and stated CFA's
appreciation for Reed's comments supporting faculty. Hawkins then
discussed the decreasing percentage of the CSU budget that is
being spent on instruction while administrative positions have
nearly tripled. He also shared CFA's budget proposals that
include protecting instructional and student service programs
from budget cuts; implementing minimum instructional expenditure
requirements; keeping CSU student fees at current levels; making
the CSU administration more accountable in how it expends
enrollment growth funds, with an emphasis on protecting monies
earmarked for instruction and student services; and placing cost
controls on CMS/PeopleSoft while restricting the diversion of
instructional and student service funding to pay for CMS costs.


This week Speaker Herb Wesson (D-Los Angeles), Named The Following Committee
chairs, effective immediately.

Ed Chavez (D-Pomona), Chair of the Committee on Revenue and Taxation.

Joe Canciamilla (D-Hayward), Chair of the Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife.

Dean Florez (D-Fresno), Chair of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee.

Lynn Daucher (R-Fullerton), Chair of the Committee on Aging and Long-Term Care.

Richard Dickerson (R-Chico), Chair of the Committee on Veterans Affairs.

Darrell Steinberg (D-Sacramento), Chair of the Committee on Appropriations.

Rebecca Cohn (D-San Jose), Chair of the Committee on Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism and Internet Media.

Ellen Corbett (D-Hayward), Chair of the Committee on Judiciary.

Speaker Herb Wesson also named the following committee chair designations to
assume their responsibilities in the future.

Carol Liu (D-Los Angeles), Chair designee of the Committee on Higher Education.

Joe Nation (D-Sonoma), Chair designee of the Committee on Rules.

Patricia Wiggins (D-Sonoma), Chair designee of the Committee on Banking and Finance.

Jackie Goldberg (D-Los Angeles), Chair designee of the Committee on Education.

Fran Pavley (D-Northridge), Chair designee of the Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials.

Dario Frommer (D-Northridge), Chair designee of the Committee on Health.

Juan Vargas (D-San Diego), Chair designee of the Committee on Insurance.

Simon Salinas (D-San Jose), Chair designee of the Committee on Local Government.

Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-San Luis Obispo), Chair designee of the Committee on Natural Resources.

Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-Pomona), Chair designee of the Committee on Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security.

Sarah Reyes (D-Fresno), Chair designee of the Committee on Utilities and Commerce.


CFA continues to monitor the ongoing review of the Master Plan.
The seven Working Groups have completed their final reports and
hearings are being held in Sacramento concerning their
recommendations.  CFA, in cooperation with CTA and the Community
Colleges Association, is providing testimony on the higher
education aspects.  For access to the reports and a timetable for
hearings check the Master Plan website:

#                             #                                #